Today’s blog will share some of the most common FAQS regarding the UK points-based immigration system. Read on to learn the answers to some of the most commonly asked questions by those thinking of pursuing UK immigration, including, “What is the new UK immigration rules?”, and “What are the 4 types of immigration?”, and finally, “How do you apply to work in the UK?”.

What is the new UK immigration rules?

  • The new UK points-based immigration system went into effect as a result of Brexit; once the UK left the EU, its immigration system was no longer subject to EU control/oversight. 
  • Under the new UK immigration system, Britain has regained control over its borders—i.e. control over who can enter the country, the conditions under which they may enter (what visa they need) how long they can stay, and what they can do as residents (work, study, apply for benefits, etc). 
  • The new immigration system is point based, meaning that each visa has a certain number of points that an applicant must achieve in order to be eligible for that visa. 

What are the points needed to be able to apply to work in the UK?

  • Many applicants for UK immigration ask, “What are the points needed to be able to apply to work in the UK?”.
  • Under the UK immigration system, applicants must earn a minimum of 70 points to be eligible for most UK work visas. 

How will points be awarded?

  • Confused about how points will be awarded under the system? Essentially, points are awarded based on the fulfillment of specific requirements for specific visas. 
  • As mentioned above, applicants need to acquire 70 points in order to be eligible for a UK work visa. Each requirement is worth a certain number of points; collectively, the number of points (requirements) you meet should add up to a minimum of 70 points. 
  • In addition, points are divided into two categories: mandatory and tradeable. Mandatory points are those that an applicant must achieve exclusively by fulfilling a certain requirement; tradeable points are those that can be obtained by fulfilling more than one requirement (so long as the requirement produces the needed number of points). 
  • For example, an applicants for a Skilled Worker visa needs to gain 70 points by achieving certain required and not required (mandatory and tradeable) points. For example: one requirement worth 10 mandatory points relates to English language, meaning that if the applicant fulfills the English language requirement, he or she will have 10 points, and is on her way to achieving the 60 additional points they need to be eligible for a Skilled Worker visa. 

Which countries have points-based immigration system?

  • While the UK recently adopted a points-based immigration system, it is not the only country in the world that has one. 
  • Wondering which countries have points-based immigration systems aside from the UK? In addition to several commonwealth countries (Australia, Canada, New Zealand), Japan and South Korea also have points-based immigration systems. 

What are the 4 types of immigration?

  • Broadly speaking, there are four categories of immigration statuses in the UK and throughout other sovereign states:  
    • Citizen 
    • Resident
    • Non-immigrant
    • Illegal immigrant 

How do you apply to work in the UK?

  • The vast majority of foreigners will need to apply for a visa in order to work in the UK for more than 6 months. 
  • The first step for those looking to work in the UK is therefore to determine whether or not you need a visa in order to come to the country. You can find out whether you need a visa by accessing this link and inputting information about your nationality and purpose for immigration. 
  • Once you know if you need a visa, you can research more about the different categories of visas available. 
  • There are, broadly, five categories of UK work visas: 
    1. Skilled Worker visa
    2. Temporary Worker visa
    3. Business, talent, and investor visa 
    4. Commonwealth citizens 
    5. Other Worker
  • There are several different types of visas within each of the above categories. You should apply for whichever visa best describes your purpose for coming to the UK. 
  • Once you know what visa category and type best describes your reason for immigrating to the UK, you can apply for that visa. 
  • While the required documents, fees, and requirements will vary depending on what type of visa you are applying for, and where you are applying from, the general application process is the following:  
    1. Check the specific eligibility requirements for your visa 
    2. Gather your required documents
    3. Access and fill out the application 
    4. Pay your visa fees 
    5. Submit your biometric information (photo and fingerprints) 
    6. Await your decision 

How does the new UK points-based immigration system work for EU citizens?

  • Wondering how does the new UK points-based immigration system work for EU citizens? You’re not alone. After Brexit, many EU citizens wondered how they would fare under the UK’s new points-based immigration system. 
  • Unlike non-EU nationals, citizens and residents of EU countries who seek to enter and remain in the UK for under 6 months (including for the purpose of tourism, study, or most types of work) will usually not need a visa to do so. 
  • Similarly, EU citizens looking to transit through the UK will not, unlike many non-EU citizens, need a transit visa to do so. 
  • Finally, EU citizens who apply for most visas to the UK will only have to present their photograph as proof of identity (in contrast to non-EU citizens who will need their biometric information collected at visa application centers). 
  • Additionally, EU citizens and residents are uniquely eligible to apply for the EU Settlement Scheme, which is open exclusively to EU, EEA, and Swiss citizens who were residing in the UK pre-Brexit and are looking to achieve settlement in the country and maintain residency there after June 30th of this year.   
  • However, EU citizens who are looking to remain in the UK for longer than 6 months will be subject to the same points-requirements as non-EU citizens.  

What is UK points-based system for international students?

  • If you are a foreigner who is looking to come to school in the UK, you may be wondering what is UK points-based system for international students? 
  • The UK points-based system applies equally to foreigners looking to study and work in the UK. 
  • The UK points-based system applies equally to EU citizens and non-EU citizens; both will need to achieve 70 points in order to be eligible for a UK Student visa. 
  • Applicants can achieve points by fulfilling certain requirements, such as being accepted into a UK university, demonstrating English language abilities, and proving one’s financial security. 
Please enable JavaScript in your browser to complete this form.

Latest Articles and News